Tuñón named 2012 Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award winner

Johanna Ruth Tuñón, director of distance and instructional library services at Nova Southeastern University, has been named the 2012 recipient of the Routledge Distance Learning Librarianship Conference Sponsorship Award.

This annual award, sponsored by Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group, and administrated by the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) Distance Learning Section (DLS), honors an ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to, the success of distance learning librarianship or related library service in higher education.

“Johanna Ruth Tuñón has devoted her career to serving distance students for over two decades,” said award Co-Chairs Mou Chakraborty of Salisbury University and Alice Daugherty of Louisiana State University. “Tuñón has distinguished herself with a lengthy and impressive record of scholarship and service specific to distance learning.”

In addition to speaking at numerous conferences, and serving on the Journal of Library and Information Services in Distance Learning editorial board,she has tirelessly served DLS for more than a decade.  She has served as DLS archivist and secretary and has chaired the Research Committee, Awards Committee, Nominations Committee and Program Committee.  From 2005-2007, Tuñón served as vice-chair and chair of DLS.

Tuñón’s publications relating to distance learning include “A Model of Library Training for Distance Doctoral Students” with Laura Ramirez (2010) and “Expanded Assessment Study Examining the Citation Patterns from Traditional and Nontraditional Institutions and Their Effect Upon the Quality of Doctoral Reference Lists” with Bruce Brydges (2009).

Tuñón received her B.A. from Valparaiso University (1970) and her M.L.S. from the Texas Woman’s University (1989). She received her Ed.D. from Nova Southeastern University in 1999.

Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group will present the $1,200 award and plaque at the ALA Annual Conference in Anaheim.

Additional information on the award, along with a list of past winners, is available online at http://www.ala.org/acrl/awards/achievementawards/dlsaward.

(From ALA Press Release)

This entry was posted in Announcement. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s